top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Bailey

Deep Conditioning Routines and Tips from the BU Naturally Team!


Photo from glowbydaye on Instagram


During our wash-n-go Curl Chat, people really wanted to know how others deep condition their hair, what products they use, and if everyone should be doing it too. Whether you do wash-n-go’s, protective styles, or any other natural hair styles, deep conditioning is a way to give your hair moisture and keep it healthy. A regular conditioner’s main job is to soften the hair. A deep conditioner is thicker and has the goal of strengthening and moisturizing the hair. Does adding a deep conditioner to your routine really make a difference? Below, some of our members describe how they deep condition and we give our top tips for creating a successful deep conditioning routine for yourself!


I’m Tiffany, Editor-in-chief of the blog. I have 4b, low-porosity hair and I almost only do wash-n-go style. I wash my hair every two weeks and I deep condition each time! My favorite product is the Aussie Three Minute Miracle Moist deep conditioner. I use a lot of it to cover my hair and get the moisturizing effect but it is very affordable and the big bottle lasts a long time. I massage it into my hair, put a plastic shower cap over my head, and make the shower water extra hot to get the steam. After 5 minutes, I detangle my hair with my fingers, rinse out the deep conditioner, and continue with the LOC method to finish my wash-n-go. I’ve noticed that deep conditioning makes my hair easier to detangle and the steam really does help add moisture!



Camille, our President, has 4c, low-porosity hair and washes her hair once every week. She deep conditions twice a month and says of her routine: “To avoid protein overload, I start with a clarifying shampoo (either As I Am or the TPH Honey Fresh). Then I use a protein free conditioner (either TGIN Honey Mask or As I Am intensive conditioner) and sit in the shower with steam for a few minutes then cover my hair with a cap for a few hours. After, I rinse with cold water.” Camille brings up an important point about using water temperature to help your hair’s needs. Hot water and steam open the hair cuticle, helping the hair to take in moisture. Rinsing with cold water closes the hair cuticle, keeping in the moisture you just added.


DaJanae, our Vice-President, has 4c, normal-porosity hair and deep conditions once a week (with each time she washes). “My hair tends to be on the dryer side and I like to deep condition each week. I use the Shea Moisture Intensive Hydration Hair Masque from their manuka honey & mafura oil line. I like to put my hair in four sections and put in the conditioner. I put on a shower cap and leave it on for about 10 minutes. This is usually a good time in my wash day routine for a snack break.” DaJanae highlights the time commitment of deep conditioning. To get the best results for your hair (and save water), you may have to get out of the shower during your wash routine. But you can take this opportunity to get a snack, do a bit of reading, scroll on your phone, or anything else you’ve been needing to make a little time for. This is a great time to relax and do some mindful self-care!


Adanna, a writer on our blogging committee, has 4b/4c hair and washes weekly or biweekly. She provides a different perspective, as she does not have a set deep conditioning routine. She says: “I don’t have any deep conditioning products currently, but I wash my hair and place conditioning product on while it’s wet. I start at the ends and go to the roots and use my fingers or a wide tooth comb to detangle and then I twist it up into some random sections and wait like an hour (when my hair stops being dripping wet basically) or so before rinsing it out. I don’t use heat but I do cover it.” Adanna reminds us that deep conditioning is not absolutely necessary for everyone. But, if you feel your hair is dry and tangled, even right after you wash, a consistent deep conditioning routine with the right products could help. Leaving your regular conditioning product in for a longer period of time, like Adanna, could help you get more benefit from the product without buying a different deep conditioner.


So here are my top tips when it comes to deep conditioning:

  1. Find the right product(s) for you! Not all ingredients work the same on all hair types. You may want to consider your hair’s porosity and what benefits your hair needs when choosing your products. This could take some trial and error to find the right stuff so pick up sample-size packets and bottles when you see them at the store. Try deep conditioning each time you wash so you can get a sense of how your hair feels with different products.

  2. Try using heat! Just as heat opens the pores in your skin, it also opens up your hair cuticle, allowing the products to penetrate the hair and get the moisture in. I’ve tried a hooded dryer bonnet and a heat cap but what works best for me is just a plastic cap and the shower steam.

  3. Consider the extra time as care for you and your hair! Whether you decide to spend a few minutes or a few hours with deep conditioner in your hair, the time will be well spent. You can just relax and do your skin care/hygiene or move around and get some tasks done. Creating your routine will help deep conditioning become a priority and even something you look forward to.

We hope finding your own deep conditioning routine contributes to your hair health and mental health!

37 views0 comments
bottom of page